All Things NaNo!

October 13, 2008 at 1:27 pm 2 comments

November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and I’m gearing up to join the crazies who will write 50,000 words in 30days!

Of course as a young writer, you choose your word count!

I’m a first timer. Anyone out there with NaNo experience?

My list for getting ready:

  1. I signed up on their site
  2. I also signed up as a teacher on the Young Writers Program of NaNo
  3. I interviewed Tavia Stewart, Young Writers Program Director, for tips on how to keep the kids (read: me!) motivated through the month (article to appear on-line soon!)
  4. I asked a municipal liaison (AKA local NaNo volunteer) to give a pep talk to my group on Nov 1
  5. I posted on a few forums on their sites
  6. I have two books on hold at the library: No Plot? No Problem? by Chris Baty and Book in a Month: the fool-proof system for writing a book in 30 days by Victoria Lynn Schmidt.
  7. Reading all I can on prepping for and surviving NaNo. Check out this great article  by Victoria Lynn Schmidt on Wow! Women on Writing Blog.  And go here to download a FREE handbook: 30 Tips for 30 Days, by Devon Ellington.

I’ll post more as I come across them, but be forewarned: November will be me writing like crazy (and hopefully posting my experience here daily!)

 Any more tips? Post here!

Entry filed under: Books, Events, Ideas. Tags: , , , , , .

Contest Announcement! Terror Tuesdays!

2 Comments

  • 1. Taylor  |  October 13, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I don’t really have any tips, but i’m attempting the same thing for the first time. I signed up a few days ago… friday actually. I just thought i’d let you know that i’m trying this out for the first time as well and that you’re not alone. 🙂 i’ve heard that it’s really hard to do, and i personally don’t know anyone who’s done it, but we’ll see. Maybe i’ll get lucky and accomplish it on my first try. 🙂 probably not, but whatevs…

  • 2. writerinspired  |  October 13, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Well, Taylor, c’mon over to this site during November! Hopefully we can all keep each other encouraged!

    Did you see the “chore coupons” in the Workbooks on the YWP site? Ugh! If I’m promising some ugly chore, you’d better believe I’m making my word count. : )


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter!

Young Writers Program: NANOWRIMO

Young Writers Program NANOWRIMO
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 62,002 hits

