Thumbs up Thursday!

September 10, 2009 at 12:02 am

So many books become movies, and so often we vow that the book is always better! Case in point, this weekend, I found a copy of the movie Speak, starring Kristen Stewart (the book by the same name, is written by Laurie Halse Anderson; see my book review here.)

 speak_movie

Speak_book

                           versus         

I have to say I was quite disappointed in the movie.  Although I expected to be. Anderson’s writing is so crisp and sarcastic, yet moving, but the acting in the movie was lacking on all accounts.  Don’t send computer viruses to my blog, now, all you Kristen Stewart fans. I like her, though of course  I’d rather be the one opposite Robert Pattinson in the Twilight movies, but I digress.

the notebook_movie

the notebook_book

 

 

                         versus        

Some movies I think were better than their books are: The Notebook (I’m sorry Nicholas Sparks fans! I think his writing is too ordinary and simplistic.) The movie was much more powerful.  Also, The Bridges of Madison County:  the movie  – Loved it! The book: not so much.  I felt the characters were better portrayed on screen, though we are talking about the great Meryl Streep (she did play in roles other than Mama Mia! for you younger readers!)

 

What are your thoughts on movies versus their books? Share!

Entry filed under: Books, Question of the Week. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Wacky Wednesday! 5 Prompt Friday!


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Young Writers Program: NANOWRIMO

Young Writers Program NANOWRIMO
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 62,106 hits

